top of page

Literacy | Czech Republic


It has been a long time since I wrote [a] final report [since] last semester. Although I am not a sensitive student, I really appreciate AIESEC Calgary. Because of this platform, I met many perfect people in Czech Republic. Especially in these two weeks, students from schools let me know how pure the world is.

We changed schools every week, which means we met new students every seven days. Since these two schools are close to each other, we can go to the first one even after we finished our program last week. The unusual point for the first school is that students there are special. They are from families [who do not have] too much time to take care of them. When we first went to the headmaster’s office, the lovely English teacher told us and requested us to be more patient to them. She said: “they are lovely, I love them, I think I met angels." Every day when we went to this office in the morning, this teacher told us [don't] be shy to ask what we wanted. The headmaster and PE teacher picked us up in front of our flat on time every morning. They prepared [a] nice breakfast for us and even took [our] unwashed clothes home to wash them and [dry] them. We had a wonderful and perfect time in that school. Every afternoon after class, we went with this lovely English teacher to some places which she thought were nice and good for us to relax. When we finished the trip, the headmaster or his son drove us back. In addition, that was the first time I ate a super nice dinner with my teachers and the headmaster!

Obviously, students who taught by those angels also have lily-white hearts. We could see how popular and how much they love us. I was so sad when we finished the program in that school last Friday.

When I see these lovely children at schools every time, I believe [there are] butterflies around us.

Tomorrow will be the last day in the second school. When I finished classes this afternoon, a little boy came to me and hugged me. I cried. I know I am 24 years old already and I need to have a strong heart, but I cannot control my tears. I think this is the magic from children.

Ok, now I will calm down and write what I got from this project.

Because we only have 4 volunteers in AIESEC Plzen, sometimes we [were] separated into two people in one class, or we will be by ourselves in our own classrooms. Therefore, we have chance to learn from other members. For instance, I learned strict laws in Singapore from Xinxin, sport games in Canada from Jimmy, and Georgian dances from Gvantsa. During these two weeks, I improved social skills and English as well. I shared my stories with students and they exchanged their stories with me as well. We are like a whole family in Czech Republic. The really funny point is that students in these schools [would always] like to ask us [to] write our names on their arms. When I wrote my name on their arms, I felt like a super star from China. Yesterday, one girl showed me her arm and I found that she did not wash her arm because my name was on it!

I think my story has not finished in Czech Republic and my heart will always stay with those nice people in Czech Republic.

This is my story for Czech Republic, what about yours?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • AIESEC Logo.png
bottom of page